Phil's CIS to EFI

Here we go then.........

My first deliberation was where to put the thread. Ignition first so this is the obvious place.

For a number of years this is something I have desired. Throttle bodies look amazing, should save fuel, be more reliable and adaptable and maybe produce some more horsepower. CIS is now ancient and parts can be very expensive to replace. EFI parts are essentially standalone, solid state technology and can be replaced relatively cheaply. This is my rationale and is clearly open to significant debate but I have taken the plunge. 

I do not pretend to know very much about the subject so I have been doing a lot of reading and learning about this stuff is very interesting and keeps me occupied :lol: This will not be a quick process and I don't plan to start installing parts until October-ish to take advantage of the "down" season. In the meantime I am studying and buying. Already my estimated budget of £1000 is blown considerably :o

So here are the starter parts. I know, ignition first but they are just sooooo shiny and pretty I couldn't resist. Manifolds from DanST Engineering. Can't rate Dan too highly, very helpful and friendly.

t6.thumb.jpg.e9aeed1b1362446f531ed5239804fd00.jpg

How light? When the box arrived this morning I thought there was nothing in it.

t5.thumb.jpg.9bc24df83148df60c1b6e6285b724272.jpg

You can't have too many gratuitous shiny aluminium pics..........

t4.thumb.jpg.762fb318497a5ec7360839b1f3f90ecd.jpg

Triumph 955i throttle bodies from Ebay (sorry Kenny but these were cheap ;) ) I have tested the injectors and they click nicely and the throttle position sensors give what appears to be the correct resistance reading.

t1.thumb.jpg.c8765b59eac313581444ecc826700902.jpg

t3.thumb.jpg.59c449ff696c9b799a8dd6e8a6294e5a.jpg

t2.thumb.jpg.e39494791218e999acb7f39ecd085d68.jpg

Huge amounts to do and learn. More parts have been ordered and brains picked. I shall order the ECU over the weekend.