Impact Bumpers

915 Shifter Very Vague

Did a search and didn’t see anything on this topic. Recently purchased an early 3.2 w/ 915 gearbox. The shifter feels incredibly vague and sloppy to me. Is there a common culprit for this?

I was planning to do a Wevo Classic and their coupler but want to make sure I am fixing the real issue. Could this indicate a larger issue with the gearbox? It’s vague to the point I’m not sure what gear I’m in and I have been driving manual cars for a couple decades now.

I wasn’t expecting an S2000 shifter or anything but this seems a bit ridiculous. The car is going to my mechanic for a full once over but I’d like to have a better idea of what to look at. Thanks in advance. 

That’s what they are like, there is no springing to hold the lever in the 3/4 plane.  

Adding the Wevo or Rennshift adds the spring but make sure your box is sound first or you’ll just mask off ‘real’ issues. 

Research ‘shift coupler’ too before that. 

Edited by Jonny Hart

No spring loading but a well serviced shifter with good bushes should have no vagueness and nothing that would be described as sloppy.

If all you gears engage well then it points to a external problem with the shifter arrangement.

All the bushes are easy and inexpensive to replace. Lots of information on IB and other forums on how to replace the bushes and set the shifter correctly.    

When I first got my car, it was the first Porsche I’d owned. I thought selecting gears was like stirring porridge!

I hated it! 

I knew the gearbox needed attention as it was crunching slightly coming down from second into first, so I had the gearbox rebuilt. 

I then tackled the gear lever assembly.

Upon dismantling I found all the nylon/plastic bushes were worn. (The one under the lever, the selector tube/rod one and the coupling bushes)