The mother of all IB brake upgrades?

Peter Bull

I don't trust my brakes. Well there I said it. The brake pedal feels spongy. The car once had firm pedal, but it was lost many years ago. I've tried steel braided brake lines, and I've tried several different racing brake pads. No luck so far. When going into a 90 degree bend at 180 km/h I would prefer to trust my brakes blindly.

A couple of years back I bought almost all the parts necessary to run 993 RS and 964 turbo 2 calipers front and rear respectively. But I wimped out when I discovered how much of the front hubs I had to remove on the lathe for the discs to fit. I sold the parts to a friend and continued searching for the firm brake pedal.

Then one day I discovered that Instant-G had a kit for fitting 996 turbo brakes. Please bear in mind that I'm an engineer within the field of lightweight structures. I react to the combination of monoblock and calipers the same way Jeremy Clarkson's German engineer alter ego reacts to the combination of silicone and carbide. After drooling and shaking wildly for a while I forced myself to see that it was way over the top. But, I also found out that a kit for fitting 996 Carrera calipers was available. The shaking and drooling started again, and I just had to get that kit.

The kit consisted of front hubs with new wheel bearings, front and rear caliper adapters, and mounting hardware. A set of four reasonably worn 996 Carrera calipers was sourced from eBay, new discs from Type 911, an AP Racing adjustable proportioning valve from Raceparts and a set of Performance Friction PFC 01 from their Swedish agent.

I haven't called the kit a bolt on because it wasn't. Bolt on-ish, maybe. I'll try to describe what I had to do to make the parts fit. Dealing with Instant-G was pleasant enough, but it took a lot of time. A couple of deliveries were wrong, and getting the right parts took even more time.

Front axle

996BrakesFront.jpg