New lightweight battery for the 3.2

I have been using an Optima for the last 8 years and it has just stopped holding it's charge, so time for a change.

I had bolted the Optima to an ally "sled" I made from dimensions cribbed from Pelican.
Batterysled3.jpg

The slightly upturned end of the "sled" clips under the rear battery retaining bracket and the front is held in place with the standard bolt.
Batterysled2.jpg

The plan was to reuse the "sled" with a new bracket to hold a lighter battery. I thought the Odyssey ones were a bit expensive and having followed a thread on Pelican where people are having success with cheap batteries intended for mobility scooters I had a look around.

I got a 22Ah Yuasa AGM one that weighed just under 6.2kg from Ebay for £40 delivered. So lighter and higher Ah than an Odyssey PC680 and the supplier was also advertising it for motorsport application.

IMAG1342_zpseravh3uj.jpg

It came with tab connectors and so I made an ally adaptor block to convert it to post fittings, which is already on the -ve terminal in the picture.

Both terminals done and an offcut from an old bike inner-tube added to cover the converter blocks.

IMAG1343_zpsodjes5wi.jpg

Ally bracket made and fitted to the "sled"

IMAG1344_zpsf3wulbik.jpg

Installed in the car
IMAG1346_zpst2zj9f1d.jpg

All working OK, have to see how long it lasts.

Mark

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

£40???? Cheap as chips. Light too. Good find Mark. Got a link?

I put an alternative search in and found the same thing even cheaper at £34 delivered, typical!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/YUASA-22ah-12volt-GOLF-TROLLEY-MOBILITY-BATTERY-HILLBILLY-ETC-/251892390721?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3aa5f4db41

I think the other supplier upped the price as they realised it had motorsport applications, but it was good service and deliverd very quickly.